projects/modsched/linux.git
6 years agoMerge remote-tracking branch 'origin/clustered' into aks_dev_clus
Akshay Giridhar [Tue, 24 Jun 2014 21:39:59 +0000 (17:39 -0400)]
Merge remote-tracking branch 'origin/clustered' into aks_dev_clus

Conflicts:
fs/exec.c
include/linux/popcorn.h
include/linux/process_server.h
kernel/futex.c
kernel/kinit.c
kernel/process_server.c
kernel/sched.c
pcnmsg/pcn_kmsg.c

6 years agoPreparing to commit with clustering version
Akshay Giridhar [Tue, 24 Jun 2014 18:51:20 +0000 (14:51 -0400)]
Preparing to commit with clustering version

6 years agoRequeue error
akshay [Mon, 9 Jun 2014 16:19:06 +0000 (12:19 -0400)]
Requeue error

6 years agomodified process_server for clustering
akshay [Wed, 28 May 2014 05:44:51 +0000 (01:44 -0400)]
modified process_server for clustering

6 years agoMerge remote-tracking branch 'origin/davek' into aks_dev
akshay [Wed, 28 May 2014 04:27:31 +0000 (00:27 -0400)]
Merge remote-tracking branch 'origin/davek' into aks_dev

Conflicts:
include/linux/kmod.h
include/linux/process_server.h
kernel/process_server.c
kernel/sched.c

6 years agocleaned and structured futex.
akshay [Tue, 27 May 2014 23:14:09 +0000 (19:14 -0400)]
cleaned and structured futex.

6 years agoSpit proc entry data out dmesg instead of overflowing buffer in proc print function
David Katz [Tue, 27 May 2014 02:05:28 +0000 (22:05 -0400)]
Spit proc entry data out dmesg instead of overflowing buffer in proc print function

6 years agoBug fix and set all imported vmas to VM_MIXEDMAP
David Katz [Fri, 23 May 2014 01:05:58 +0000 (21:05 -0400)]
Bug fix and set all imported vmas to VM_MIXEDMAP

6 years agoTested with glibc test suite. Worked for 14/16 applications.
akshay [Thu, 22 May 2014 01:21:14 +0000 (21:21 -0400)]
Tested with glibc test suite. Worked for 14/16 applications.

6 years agoImproved error checking
David Katz [Wed, 21 May 2014 03:42:08 +0000 (23:42 -0400)]
Improved error checking

6 years agoSome experimentation on the COW problem
David Katz [Wed, 21 May 2014 02:59:16 +0000 (22:59 -0400)]
Some experimentation on the COW problem

6 years agoFirst try at fixing rediculous COW problem
David Katz [Wed, 21 May 2014 01:52:14 +0000 (21:52 -0400)]
First try at fixing rediculous COW problem

6 years agoDisabled vdso
David Katz [Tue, 20 May 2014 23:05:13 +0000 (19:05 -0400)]
Disabled vdso

6 years agodefault value for vdso must be zero, we are not supporting vdso at this timewq
Antonio Barbalace [Tue, 20 May 2014 18:22:47 +0000 (14:22 -0400)]
default value for vdso must be zero, we are not supporting vdso at this timewq

6 years agoBug fix
David Katz [Sun, 18 May 2014 17:22:56 +0000 (13:22 -0400)]
Bug fix

6 years agoRemoved unnecessary distributed lock release and reacquisition in mmap
David Katz [Sun, 18 May 2014 15:57:16 +0000 (11:57 -0400)]
Removed unnecessary distributed lock release and reacquisition in mmap

6 years agoImplemented shared page counter
David Katz [Sat, 17 May 2014 19:20:05 +0000 (15:20 -0400)]
Implemented shared page counter

6 years agoTurned heavy lock off by default
David Katz [Sat, 17 May 2014 17:36:39 +0000 (13:36 -0400)]
Turned heavy lock off by default

6 years agoAdded distributed lock similar to mm_sem. This is a configuration item.
David Katz [Sat, 17 May 2014 17:12:39 +0000 (13:12 -0400)]
Added distributed lock similar to mm_sem.  This is a configuration item.

6 years agoVersion before new design
akshay [Tue, 13 May 2014 16:43:32 +0000 (12:43 -0400)]
Version before new design

6 years agoPerformance change
David Katz [Sat, 10 May 2014 01:37:31 +0000 (21:37 -0400)]
Performance change

6 years agoChanged default to not use strict vma coherency
David Katz [Fri, 9 May 2014 02:15:48 +0000 (22:15 -0400)]
Changed default to not use strict vma coherency

6 years agoBug Fix
David Katz [Thu, 8 May 2014 01:22:34 +0000 (21:22 -0400)]
Bug Fix

6 years agoImplemented batch lamport locking
David Katz [Tue, 6 May 2014 23:29:18 +0000 (19:29 -0400)]
Implemented batch lamport locking

6 years ago2 bug fixes. One in mremap, the other was a NULL pointer dereference in the fault...
David Katz [Sat, 3 May 2014 19:55:44 +0000 (15:55 -0400)]
2 bug fixes.  One in mremap, the other was a NULL pointer dereference in the fault handler in process_server

6 years agofixed an error in clustering signaled by Saif
Antonio Barbalace [Tue, 29 Apr 2014 23:20:18 +0000 (19:20 -0400)]
fixed an error in clustering signaled by Saif

6 years agoInstrumented sleep times in pcn_kmsg.c
David Katz [Mon, 28 Apr 2014 23:37:02 +0000 (19:37 -0400)]
Instrumented sleep times in pcn_kmsg.c

6 years agoTurned lamport stuff for vma consistency into a configuration item.
David Katz [Mon, 28 Apr 2014 22:59:57 +0000 (18:59 -0400)]
Turned lamport stuff for vma consistency into a configuration item.

6 years ago?2
David Katz [Mon, 28 Apr 2014 18:10:40 +0000 (14:10 -0400)]
?2

6 years ago?
David Katz [Mon, 28 Apr 2014 17:53:56 +0000 (13:53 -0400)]
?

6 years agoBug fix
David Katz [Mon, 28 Apr 2014 07:32:08 +0000 (03:32 -0400)]
Bug fix

6 years agoImplemented stronger VMA coherency using Lamport's
David Katz [Mon, 28 Apr 2014 06:59:00 +0000 (02:59 -0400)]
Implemented stronger VMA coherency using Lamport's

6 years agoAdded more measurements
David Katz [Sat, 26 Apr 2014 22:47:43 +0000 (18:47 -0400)]
Added more measurements

6 years agoAdded measurements to proc entry
David Katz [Sat, 26 Apr 2014 20:06:23 +0000 (16:06 -0400)]
Added measurements to proc entry

6 years agoBug fix
David Katz [Fri, 25 Apr 2014 20:46:57 +0000 (16:46 -0400)]
Bug fix

6 years agoBug fix?
David Katz [Fri, 25 Apr 2014 20:08:44 +0000 (16:08 -0400)]
Bug fix?

6 years agoAnother experiment
David Katz [Fri, 25 Apr 2014 19:08:42 +0000 (15:08 -0400)]
Another experiment

6 years agoExperiment2
David Katz [Fri, 25 Apr 2014 18:27:20 +0000 (14:27 -0400)]
Experiment2

6 years agoExperiment
David Katz [Fri, 25 Apr 2014 18:12:56 +0000 (14:12 -0400)]
Experiment

6 years agoPotential optimization, will test on gigi.
David Katz [Fri, 25 Apr 2014 17:34:12 +0000 (13:34 -0400)]
Potential optimization, will test on gigi.

6 years agoOptimization: send nonexistent_mapping_response_t instead of mapping_response_t when...
David Katz [Thu, 24 Apr 2014 20:48:21 +0000 (16:48 -0400)]
Optimization: send nonexistent_mapping_response_t instead of mapping_response_t when nopte is found but a vma is present, and the requester has specified not to send_path

6 years agoAdded an optimization that removes the vma path when the receiving kernel instance...
David Katz [Thu, 24 Apr 2014 19:57:55 +0000 (15:57 -0400)]
Added an optimization that removes the vma path when the receiving kernel instance already knows the path.  This should reduce the messaging traffic, maybe.

6 years agoImplementation of global ticket spin locks integrated with futex.
akshay [Thu, 24 Apr 2014 08:01:14 +0000 (04:01 -0400)]
Implementation of global ticket spin locks integrated with futex.

6 years agoAdded measurement for amount of time Lamport lock is held to proc entry.
David Katz [Wed, 23 Apr 2014 19:57:39 +0000 (15:57 -0400)]
Added measurement for amount of time Lamport lock is held to proc entry.

6 years agothere were another msleep, probably correct parameters for sleeping
Antonio Barbalace [Wed, 23 Apr 2014 19:28:47 +0000 (15:28 -0400)]
there were another msleep, probably correct parameters for sleeping

6 years agoBug fix
David Katz [Thu, 17 Apr 2014 02:56:24 +0000 (22:56 -0400)]
Bug fix

6 years agoTurn verbosity off
David Katz [Thu, 17 Apr 2014 01:02:13 +0000 (21:02 -0400)]
Turn verbosity off

6 years agoDebugging stuff
David Katz [Thu, 17 Apr 2014 00:51:10 +0000 (20:51 -0400)]
Debugging stuff

6 years agoTrying antonio's alternate is_mapped implementation
David Katz [Wed, 16 Apr 2014 03:03:15 +0000 (23:03 -0400)]
Trying antonio's alternate is_mapped implementation

6 years agoAdded fix for situation where anonymous mmap calls on remote threads create different...
David Katz [Tue, 15 Apr 2014 22:28:10 +0000 (18:28 -0400)]
Added fix for situation where anonymous mmap calls on remote threads create different mappings on different cpus.

6 years agoMinor changes
David Katz [Mon, 14 Apr 2014 03:07:07 +0000 (23:07 -0400)]
Minor changes

6 years agoBug fix in Lamport's algorithm implementation
David Katz [Mon, 14 Apr 2014 00:01:25 +0000 (20:01 -0400)]
Bug fix in Lamport's algorithm implementation

6 years agoSome improvements to Lamport alg, bug fixes, and warning fixes.
David Katz [Sun, 13 Apr 2014 21:25:47 +0000 (17:25 -0400)]
Some improvements to Lamport alg, bug fixes, and warning fixes.

6 years agoBug fix and error detection added to Lamport's algorithm implementation
David Katz [Sun, 13 Apr 2014 02:43:29 +0000 (22:43 -0400)]
Bug fix and error detection added to Lamport's algorithm implementation

6 years agoSome bug fixes
David Katz [Sat, 12 Apr 2014 17:05:42 +0000 (13:05 -0400)]
Some bug fixes

6 years agoImplemented Lamport's distributed mutual exclusion algorithm to guard against multipl...
David Katz [Sat, 12 Apr 2014 16:06:51 +0000 (12:06 -0400)]
Implemented Lamport's distributed mutual exclusion algorithm to guard against multiple kernels attempting to pull in mappings for the same virtual page concurrently.  Kernel's attempting to pull in mappings for different virtual pages can do so concurrently, however.

6 years agoMods to fault barrier stuff
David Katz [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 17:26:44 +0000 (13:26 -0400)]
Mods to fault barrier stuff

6 years agoAdded some safety checks and an indicator of which cpu owns a given fault entry...
David Katz [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 13:22:58 +0000 (09:22 -0400)]
Added some safety checks  and an indicator of which cpu owns a given fault entry to fault barrier

6 years agoUpdate to fault barrier
David Katz [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 04:28:24 +0000 (00:28 -0400)]
Update to fault barrier

6 years agoFirst attempt at cross-cpu atomicity for fault addresses, so more than one CPU cannot...
David Katz [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 03:31:01 +0000 (23:31 -0400)]
First attempt at cross-cpu atomicity for fault addresses, so more than one CPU cannot attempt to resolve the same page at the same time.

6 years agoAdded fix for deadlock. Added some additional metrics for process_server proc entry.
David Katz [Thu, 10 Apr 2014 01:10:11 +0000 (21:10 -0400)]
Added fix for deadlock.  Added some additional metrics for process_server proc entry.

6 years agostats and others
Antonio Barbalace [Wed, 9 Apr 2014 18:45:17 +0000 (14:45 -0400)]
stats and others

6 years agoChanged CACHE_LINE_SIZE to 128
David Katz [Tue, 8 Apr 2014 23:22:46 +0000 (19:22 -0400)]
Changed CACHE_LINE_SIZE to 128

6 years agoAdded cluster support to process_server's proc entry distribution mechanism.
David Katz [Tue, 8 Apr 2014 23:20:47 +0000 (19:20 -0400)]
Added cluster support to process_server's proc entry distribution mechanism.

6 years ago/proc/procsrv now reports stats from process_server from all cpus. echo 0 > /proc...
David Katz [Tue, 8 Apr 2014 13:44:22 +0000 (09:44 -0400)]
/proc/procsrv now reports stats from process_server from all cpus.  echo 0 > /proc/procsrv now clears stats from all cpus.

6 years agoRefactored proc statistics maintenance. Added more measurement points.
David Katz [Mon, 7 Apr 2014 03:40:06 +0000 (23:40 -0400)]
Refactored proc statistics maintenance.  Added more measurement points.

6 years agoHuge optimization related to breaking COW pages.
David Katz [Sun, 6 Apr 2014 04:00:37 +0000 (00:00 -0400)]
Huge optimization related to breaking COW pages.

6 years agoPossible optimization. Stopped breaking cow for entire vma, only pages that are...
David Katz [Sun, 6 Apr 2014 01:35:35 +0000 (21:35 -0400)]
Possible optimization.  Stopped breaking cow for entire vma, only pages that are needed.

6 years agoAdded more stats to proc entry
David Katz [Thu, 3 Apr 2014 00:59:19 +0000 (20:59 -0400)]
Added more stats to proc entry

6 years agoAdded proc entry for tracking process_server stats.
David Katz [Wed, 2 Apr 2014 23:01:47 +0000 (19:01 -0400)]
Added proc entry for tracking process_server stats.

6 years agoAdded Antonio and Michael's fix for BUG - missing initialization in pcn msg
David Katz [Sun, 30 Mar 2014 02:23:03 +0000 (22:23 -0400)]
Added Antonio and Michael's fix for BUG - missing initialization in pcn msg

6 years agobug in pcnmsg, missing initialization
root [Sat, 29 Mar 2014 20:16:37 +0000 (16:16 -0400)]
bug in pcnmsg, missing initialization

6 years agoother vty trivial fixes
Antonio Barbalace [Sat, 29 Mar 2014 00:00:57 +0000 (20:00 -0400)]
other vty trivial fixes

6 years agoIntegrated Marina's kmod replacement, and found a few bugs.
David Katz [Fri, 28 Mar 2014 01:51:25 +0000 (21:51 -0400)]
Integrated Marina's kmod replacement, and found a few bugs.

6 years agoadded a compilation time check in vty. added check in futex to do not allow futex...
Antonio Barbalace [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 20:04:21 +0000 (16:04 -0400)]
added a compilation time check  in vty. added check in futex to do not allow futex in popcorn migrated tasks.

6 years agovery important fix (to a very small error) after refactoring of a function in process...
root [Mon, 24 Mar 2014 03:13:15 +0000 (23:13 -0400)]
very important fix (to a very small error) after refactoring of a function in process_server.c

6 years agomore simple modifications to VTY
root [Sun, 23 Mar 2014 18:48:45 +0000 (14:48 -0400)]
more simple modifications to VTY

6 years agovty lifting, correction of some erroneous code,
Antonio Barbalace [Sat, 22 Mar 2014 17:21:50 +0000 (13:21 -0400)]
vty lifting, correction of some erroneous code,
added decent verbosity. Refactored the initialization proceduers.
Buffering mechanism still to be rewritten. Tested.

6 years agolifting of io_apic.c, ioremap.c, probe.c and popcorn.h
Antonio Barbalace [Sat, 22 Mar 2014 17:20:14 +0000 (13:20 -0400)]
lifting of io_apic.c, ioremap.c, probe.c and popcorn.h
fixed POPCORN_PERF in unistd_64.h and process_server.c
working on a serious bug in process_server.c - still not checked on a working system

6 years agomanually integrated David's modification (commit 21658a5e3456522f5f8d7494ac2c2ee66124...
root [Thu, 20 Mar 2014 19:23:04 +0000 (15:23 -0400)]
manually integrated David's modification (commit 21658a5e3456522f5f8d7494ac2c2ee661240ac3) into clustered branch

6 years agoMAJOR BUG FIX. Ensure shadow task never resumes execution unless we want it to.
David Katz [Thu, 20 Mar 2014 01:57:34 +0000 (21:57 -0400)]
MAJOR BUG FIX.  Ensure shadow task never resumes execution unless we want it to.

6 years agomessaging layer fixes and rewriting (I divided the point to point layer from the...
Antonio Barbalace [Thu, 20 Mar 2014 01:03:12 +0000 (21:03 -0400)]
messaging layer fixes and rewriting (I divided the point to point layer from the multicast layer). the multicast layer is now commented out. Removed the MATRIX communicator form the kernel compilation.

6 years agore-enable clustering after integration
Antonio Barbalace [Wed, 19 Mar 2014 16:18:59 +0000 (12:18 -0400)]
re-enable clustering after integration

6 years agointegrated with davek and modification in scsi_ioctl.c
Antonio Barbalace [Wed, 19 Mar 2014 16:17:31 +0000 (12:17 -0400)]
integrated with davek and modification in scsi_ioctl.c

6 years agoMerge branch 'davek' of git.chronoslinux.org:mklinux into HEAD
Antonio Barbalace [Wed, 19 Mar 2014 16:14:51 +0000 (12:14 -0400)]
Merge branch 'davek' of git.chronoslinux.org:mklinux into HEAD

Conflicts:
kernel/process_server.c

6 years agoAnother munmap/mprotect bug fix
David Katz [Wed, 19 Mar 2014 02:25:53 +0000 (22:25 -0400)]
Another munmap/mprotect bug fix

6 years agokinit.c rewritten, major memory allocation error, stuff not used. exec.c debugging...
root [Tue, 18 Mar 2014 18:17:35 +0000 (14:17 -0400)]
kinit.c rewritten, major memory allocation error, stuff not used. exec.c debugging printk. kmod.c debugging printk. process_server.c fixes and debugging

6 years agoMerge remote-tracking branch 'origin/davek' into aks_dev
akshay [Mon, 17 Mar 2014 18:52:36 +0000 (14:52 -0400)]
Merge remote-tracking branch 'origin/davek' into aks_dev

Conflicts:
fs/exec.c
init/main.c
kernel/kinit.c

6 years agoAdded PF_EXITING guard to process_munmap_request
David Katz [Sun, 16 Mar 2014 20:18:27 +0000 (16:18 -0400)]
Added PF_EXITING guard to process_munmap_request

6 years agominimal modification on Marina's fix
Dave Katz [Sun, 16 Mar 2014 15:40:03 +0000 (11:40 -0400)]
minimal modification on Marina's fix

6 years agoMarina's usersp patch
root [Fri, 14 Mar 2014 22:36:53 +0000 (18:36 -0400)]
Marina's usersp patch

6 years agofixes, rewriting
Dave Katz [Fri, 14 Mar 2014 17:22:30 +0000 (13:22 -0400)]
fixes, rewriting

6 years agoMerge branch 'davek' of git.chronoslinux.org:mklinux into HEAD
Dave Katz [Fri, 14 Mar 2014 01:57:28 +0000 (21:57 -0400)]
Merge branch 'davek' of git.chronoslinux.org:mklinux into HEAD

6 years agomore changes?
Dave Katz [Fri, 14 Mar 2014 01:53:51 +0000 (21:53 -0400)]
more changes?

6 years agomega bug fixed by antonio and akshay
Dave Katz [Thu, 13 Mar 2014 23:09:15 +0000 (19:09 -0400)]
mega bug fixed by antonio and akshay

6 years agoChecked pte_none while making mapping writable, and while checking to see if it is...
David Katz [Thu, 13 Mar 2014 17:55:02 +0000 (13:55 -0400)]
Checked pte_none while making mapping writable, and while checking to see if it is writable.  Also used locks to guard fs and files structures in task_struct when joining a migrated thread to an existing local thread group.

6 years agoMerge branch 'davek' of git.chronoslinux.org:mklinux into HEAD
Dave Katz [Thu, 13 Mar 2014 13:32:58 +0000 (09:32 -0400)]
Merge branch 'davek' of git.chronoslinux.org:mklinux into HEAD

Conflicts:
kernel/process_server.c

6 years agopartial fixes before integration
Dave Katz [Thu, 13 Mar 2014 13:23:51 +0000 (09:23 -0400)]
partial fixes before integration

6 years agoMerge remote-tracking branch 'origin/davek' into aks_dev
akshay [Wed, 12 Mar 2014 15:18:19 +0000 (11:18 -0400)]
Merge remote-tracking branch 'origin/davek' into aks_dev

6 years agoFixed bug in is_vaddr_mapped subfunction that failed to detect pte_none situation
David Katz [Wed, 12 Mar 2014 02:48:50 +0000 (22:48 -0400)]
Fixed bug in is_vaddr_mapped subfunction that failed to detect pte_none situation